The shortlist for the first BFFF People Awards, celebrating the best talent the frozen food industry has to offer, has been announced.

Over 40 high flyers from the industry are in contention for 10 awards in categories such as Technical Champion, Marketer of the Year and Factory Manager of the Year.

The first-of-its-kind awards was launched by BFFF to raise the profile of the unsung heroes of the frozen food industry. Nominations were submitted by the finalists’ manager or team leader and covered a wide range of job roles and experience.

The finalists are as follows:


Technical Champion

Emma Meredith – Iceland Foods

Marie-Isabelle Clastres – CP Foods

Sharni Rigby –  The Authentic Food Company Ltd.

Gillian Wallace King – Brakes

Louise Elsmore – Cargill Meats Europe


Health and Safety Champion

Clare McMahon – The Authentic Food Company Ltd.

Todd Hallam – Chalcroft Construction

Bryan Atkinson – Cargill Meats Europe

John Edwards – Brakes

Claire Guy – McCain Foods (GB) Ltd


Sustainability Leader

Andrew Crawford – Brakes

Ann Rogers – JCS Fish Ltd

Brennan Green – Paramount 21 Ltd.

Shirley Duncalf – Bidfood


Product Developer

Karolina Fitzpatrick – Albert Bartlett

Gemma Young – Bidfood

Rachel Cook – Bidfood

Tim Matthews – Birds Eye

Marcel Obry – Brakes


Factory Manager

Jason Ash – Greenyard Frozen UK Ltd

John Mellor – The Authentic Food Company Ltd

Mark Ditch – Iceland Foods Ltd

Adam March – Rick Bestwick Ltd

Michael Murphy – Whitby Seafoods Ltd


Commercial Champion

Ben Robinson – Aunt Bessie’s Ltd

Calum Kirk – The Co-op

Andy Breffit – Hopwells Ltd

Laura Marshall – Meal Creations (Kerry Foods)

Jane Marren – Company Shop Ltd


Supply Chain/Logistics Champion

Michael Round – Rick Bestwick Ltd

Kate Mackie – Iceland Foods Ltd

Dale Hickman – GMS Group Ltd

Derrick Curtis – Crantock Foods


Marketer of the Year

Ginny Durdy – The Ice Co. Ltd

Gail Bridgeman – Bidfood

Pete Johnson – Birds Eye Ltd

Greg Foster – McCain Foods (GB) Ltd

Mehdi Barani – The Authentic Food Company Ltd


Purchaser/Buyer of the Year

Michelle Galvin – The Authentic Food Company Ltd

Laura Manning – Bidfood

Lauren Metcalfe – Iceland Foods Ltd

Natasha Beaver – Laila’s Fine Foods Ltd

Katie Marsden – Aunt Bessie’s Ltd


Rising Star

Chris Healey – XPO Supply Chain UK

Adele Robinson – Aunt Bessie’s Ltd

Bradley Rodd – Bidfood

Ben Parsons – Greenyard Frozen UK Ltd

Colin Buckingham – Birds Eye Ltd

David Roberts – UK Foodhall Ltd

Adam Byrne – Rick Bestwick

Aaron Cooper – Iceland

David Wilkinson – The Authentic Food Company

Andy Small – Bidfood

Shahid Mohammed – Bidfood


The awards will be presented at a glittering event on the evening of 22 February 2018, at the Birmingham Hilton Metropole, following the BFFF’s Annual Business Conference. Finalists will be invited to an exclusive Finalists Reception before the awards dinner, where they will be able to celebrate their achievements among their peers.

To purchase tickets for the event, please visit


British Frozen Food Federation, Warwick House, Unit 7, Long Bennington Business Park,
Main Road, Long Bennington, NEWARK, NG23 5JR

Tel: +44 1400 283090